Air University, the center for the professional education of officers and senior noncommissioned officers of the United States Air Force. It operates colleges, schools, institutes, and supporting agencies. Headquarters and most of its major activities are at Maxwell Air Force Base, Montgomery, Alabama.

At the core of the Air University system are its four professional schools: Air Force Senior NCO Academy, for chief and senior master sergeants; Squadron Officer School, for junior officers; Air Command and Staff College, for captains and majors; and Air War College, for senior officers.

The Air University also includes the Leadership and Management Center, which includes schools for comptrollers, chaplains, historians, and judges advocate. The Extension Course Institute, at nearby Gunter Air Force Station, offers correspondence courses to all Air Force personnel.

The Air Force Institute of Technology, at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Dayton, Ohio, includes a graduate-level school of engineering and other schools specializing in aerospace engineering and related Air Force subjects.