|
Lots More Information
10 Things We Thought Were True Before the Scientific Method
Before the scientific method came along, science dabbled in some pretty far-out ideas in its youth. Remember miasmas? And spontaneous generation? And the four elements? Read more »

Author's Note: 10 Black Scientists You Should Know

This was a memorable assignment to research, not only because of the achievements of each of these scientists. The obstacles each scientist faced, which included racial and gender prejudices that prevented educational and employment opportunities, must have been frustrating and, at times, seemed insurmountable. Yet each scientist managed to not only achieve a level of success, but to pioneer new research methods and make discoveries that often had global implications.

Sources

  • Abramson, Charles Dr. "Charles Henry Turner: A Brief Biography". Oklahoma State University. (Jan. 31, 2014) http://psychology.okstate.edu/museum/turner/turnerbio.html
  • African-American Pioneers in Science. "Marie Maynard Daly (1921-2003)." (Jan. 31, 2014) http://www.african-american-scientists.com/bios/marie-maynard-daly.html
  • African-American Scientists. "Marie Maynard Daly." (Jan. 31, 2014) http://www.african-american-scientists.com/bios/marie-maynard-daly.html
  • American Chemical Society. "Percy Lavon Julian." (Jan. 30, 2014) http://www.acs.org/content/acs/en/education/whatischemistry/landmarks/julian.html
  • Biography. "Charles Henry Turner." (Jan. 31, 2014) http://www.biography.com/people/charles-henry-turner-21302547
  • Biography. "Ernest Everett Just." (Jan. 31, 2014) http://www.biography.com/people/ernest-everett-just-9359195
  • Biography. "George Washington Carver." (Jan. 30, 2014) http://www.biography.com/people/george-washington-carver-9240299?page=1
  • Biography. "Neil deGrasse Tyson." (Jan. 30, 2014) http://www.biography.com/people/neil-degrasse-tyson-20766239?page=1
  • Biography. "Patricia Bath." (Feb. 3, 2014) http://www.biography.com/people/patricia-bath-21038525?page=2
  • Chemical Heritage Foundation. "Marie Maynard Daly." (Jan. 31, 2014) http://www.chemheritage.org/discover/online-resources/chemistry-in-history/themes/biomolecules/proteins-and-sugars/daly.aspx
  • DrMae.com. "About Dr. Mae." (Feb. 3, 2014) http://www.drmae.com/about-dr-mae-97
  • Genetics. "Just and Unjust: E.E. Just (1883-1941)." 2008. (Feb. 3, 2014) http://www.genetics.org/content/179/4/1735
  • Gwinnett County Public Schools. "Ernest Everett Just." (Jan. 31, 2014) http://www.lilburnes.org/Students/Scientists/4thB/Ernest_Just_%20Madison.htm
  • Hayden Planetarium. "About Neil deGrasse Tyson." (Jan. 30, 2014) http://www.haydenplanetarium.org/tyson/profile/about-neil-degrasse-tyson
  • Homewood, Phil Sneiderman. "Inventing a New Role." The Gazette Online. Jan. 13, 2003. (Jan. 30, 2014) http://www.jhu.edu/~gazette/2003/13jan03/13west.html
  • NASA. "Astronaut Mae C. Johnson." (Jan. 31, 2014) http://www.jsc.nasa.gov/Bios/htmlbios/jemison-mc.html
  • Sanders, Robert. "Eminent Statistician David Blackwell Has Died at 91." UC Berkeley News Center. July 15, 2010. (Jan. 31, 2014) http://newscenter.berkeley.edu/2010/07/15/blackwell/
  • Scholastic. "Meet a Super Scientist." (Jan. 30, 2014) http://teacher.scholastic.com/space/Mae_Jemison/index.htm
  • Sorkin, Michael. "David Blackwell Fought Racism; Became World-Famous Statistician." St. Louis Post-Dispatch. July 14, 2010. (Jan. 31, 2014) http://www.stltoday.com/news/local/obituaries/article_8ea41058-5f35-5afa-9c3a-007200c5c179.html
|