10 Holiday Gifts for Budding Scientists

  Prev Next  

UP NEXT

10 Outrageous Experiments Conducted on Humans

10 Outrageous Experiments Conducted on Humans

Some bizarre and troubling things have been done in the quest for scientific knowledge. See 10 outrageous experiments conducted on humans to learn more.


Author's Note: 10 Holiday Gifts for Budding Scientists

When I was in the second grade, I found my older brother's science kit in the game cabinet. I still remember setting up the test tubes and mixing potions and concoctions in my room for most of the winter, the winds howling outside as I played mad scientist. Well, not really "mad." I was neither crazy nor angry, just incredibly curious and, frankly, quite happy with my scientific discoveries, whatever they were. This early foray into chemistry led to rock collections, summer science camps and homemade rocket launches. Although I never made a career out of it, science is still a long-held interest. But now I explore it with my 10- and 4-year-old daughters, who are currently plotting ways to record the voyage of their Beanie Boos into near space. They've been collecting materials and diagramming their plan for weeks. All that stands between them and their budding "Beanstronaut" is a weather balloon. Guess I know what's on their holiday gift list.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Creative KidStuff. "Chem C100 Test Lab." (Oct. 25, 2012) http://www.creativekidstuff.com/chem-c100-test-lab-science-kit.html
  • Creative KidStuff. "Detecto Lab Crime Scene Investigation Science Kit." (Oct. 25, 2012) http://www.creativekidstuff.com/detecto-lab-crime-scene-investigation-science-kit.html
  • Creative KidStuff. "Rock Science Kit." (Oct. 25, 2012) http://www.creativekidstuff.com/rock-science-kit.html
  • Home Science Tools. "Perfume Science Kit." (Oct. 25, 2012). http://www.hometrainingtools.com/perfume-science-kit/p/KT-PERFUME/
  • Lakeshore Learning. "Magnetic Science Sorting Center." (Oct. 25, 2012). http://www.lakeshorelearning.com/product/productDet.jsp?productItemID=1%2C689%2C949%2C371%2C925%2C371&FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=2534374302174774&ASSORTMENT%3C%3East_id=1408474395181113&bmUID=1351548166237
  • Lakeshore Learning. "Weather Match-Ups." (Oct. 25, 2012). http://www.lakeshorelearning.com/product/productDet.jsp?productItemID=1%2C689%2C949%2C371%2C925%2C910&ASSORTMENT%3C%3East_id=1408474395181113&bmUID=1351557219441
  • Science Castle. "Solar Power PLUS." (Oct. 25, 2012) http://sciencecastle.com/sc/index.php/sciencekits/view/Solar+Power+PLUS
  • Sterner, Robert. "The Conservation of Mass." Nature Education. 2012. (Oct. 25, 2012) http://www.nature.com/scitable/knowledge/library/the-conservation-of-mass-17395478
  • Steve Spangler Science. "Bacteria Growing Kit." (Oct. 25, 2012) http://www.stevespanglerscience.com/product/bacteria-growing-kit
  • Steve Spangler Science. "Big Bucket of Science." (Oct. 25, 2012) http://www.stevespanglerscience.com/product/big-bucket-of-science
  • Steve Spangler Science. "Deluxe Root Beer Kit." (Oct. 25, 2012) http://www.stevespanglerscience.com/product/deluxe-root-beer-kit