Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

10 Ways to Pursue Happiness

        Science | Emotions

Lost More Information

Related Articles

More Great Links

SOURCES

  • Babauta, Leo. "How to Let Go and Forgive." Zen Habits. 2010. http://zenhabits.net/how-to-let-go-and-forgive
  • Baumgardner, Jessica. "Happiness I Learned From a Child." Good Housekeeping. June 2007. http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/health/emotional/learn-happiness-jun07
  • BBC News. "Charity Makes You Feel Better." March 20, 2008. http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/health/7305395.stm
  • Bryner, Jeanna. "Do Vacations Boost Happiness?" Live Science. February 2010. http://www.livescience.com/culture/vacations-boost-happiness-100219.html
  • Business Week. "World's Happiest Countries: Bhutan." 2010. http://images.businessweek.com/ss/06/10/happiest_countries/source/9.htm
  • CBS News. "What is Happiness?" 2006 http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=1773887n
  • Csikszentmihalyi, Mihaly. "Happiness and Creativity: Going With the Flow." All Bussiness. September 1997. http://www.allbusiness.com/professional-scientific/scientific-research/650065-1.html
  • Epstein Ojalvo, Holly. "Does Your Stuff Make You Happy?" The New York Times. August 2010. http://learning.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/08/10/does-your-stuff-make-you-happy/
  • Forbes. "The World's Happiest Countries." 2006. http://www.forbes.com/2010/07/14/world-happiest-countries-lifestyle-realestate-gallup.html
  • Goldberg, Carey. "Money Makes You Happy --mIf You Spend It on Others." The Boston Globe. March 2008. http://www.boston.com/business/personalfinance/articles/2008/03/21/money_makes_you_happy___if_you_spend_it_on_others/
  • Grimshaw, Heather. "A Four-Legged Cure." Thrive NYC. July 2008. http://www.nyc-plus.com/nyc38/afourleggedcure.html
  • Happiness Pages. "Happiness is Pets -- Their Love is Unconditional." 2010. http://www.happinesspages.com/happiness-is-pets.html
  • HelpGuide Organization. "How to Stop Worrying." 2010. http://helpguide.org/mental/anxiety_self_help.htm
  • Huffington Post. "Six Ways to a More Spiritual Life." August 2009. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/isha/six-ways-to-a-more-spirit_b_255093.html
  • Levy, Francesca. "The World's Happiest Countries." Forbes. July 2010. http://www.forbes.com/2010/07/14/world-happiest-countries-lifestyle-realestate-gallup-table.html
  • Lichten, M.D.,PC. Edward. "Cortisol: The New Breakthrough in Insomnia, Fatigue and Thyroid Disorders." US Doctor. 2010. http://www.usdoctor.com/cortisol.htm
  • Mayo Clinic. "Stress Relief: When and How to Say No." 2010. http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/stress-relief/SR00039
  • NBC News. "Americans Hate Their Jobs More Than Ever." February 2007. http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/17348695/
  • NBC News. "Most U.S. Workers Not Living the Dream." January 2007. http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/16795881/ns/business-careers
  • Shelter Offshore. "Record Numbers of Americans Living Abroad." April 2005. http://www.shelteroffshore.com/index.php/living/more/americans_living_abroad