Prev Next  

Advertisement

Will alternative fuels deplete global corn supplies?

Lots More Information

Related HowStuffWorks Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • Christopherson, Paul. "Corn and Its industry: The Next Tobacco." Seeking Alpha. Oct. 27, 2008. (Nov. 7, 2008) http://seekingalpha.com/article/102132-corn-and-its-industry-the- next-tobacco
  • Clark, Ronald W. "Works of Man: A History of Invention and Engineering, from the Pyramids to the Space Shuttle." Viking Penguin Inc. 1985.
  • "U.S. Food Prices Predicted to Rise 7 Percent in 2009." Fox News. Nov. 7, 2008. (Nov. 7, 2008) http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,448424,00.html
  • Gioia, Vincent. "Global Warming: Ethanol and the Price of Corn." National Ledger. April 9, 2008. (Nov. 10, 2008) 
  • Goodman, David J. "As Ethanol Options Grow, So Does Debate Over Them." The New York Times. Sept. 21, 2008.
  • "Grains Outlook." Inside Futures. Nov. 7, 2008. (Nov. 7, 2008) http://www.insidefutures.com/article/86572/Grains%20Outlook.html
  • Holt-Giménez, Eric. "Food First Backgrounder: Biofuels -- Myths of the Argo-fuels Transition." Food First. July 6, 2007. (Nov. 7, 2008) http://www.foodfirst.org/node/1711
  • "Modern Ethanol Industry Has Superior Environmental and Economic Profile Versus Gasoline." Market Watch. Oct. 28, 2008. (Nov. 7, 2008) http://www.marketwatch.com/news/story/Modern-Ethanol-Industry- Has-Superior/story.aspx?guid={399B8EA9-E426-409F- 9176-32AF2A262633}
  • Rano, Linda. "Major HFCS users unlikely to ditch it for sugar, expert." Confectionary News. May 7, 2008. (Nov. 7, 2008) http://www.confectionerynews.com/Formulation/Major-HFCS-users- unlikely-to-ditch-it-for-sugar-expert
  • Runge, C. Ford and Benjamin Senauer. " How Ethanol Fuels the Food Crisis." Foreign Affairs. May 28, 2008. (Nov. 7, 2008) http://www.foreignaffairs.org/20080528faupdate87376/c-ford- runge-benjamin-senauer/how-ethanol-fuels-the-food-crisis.html
  • Tenenbaum, David J. "Food vs. Fuel: Diversion of Crops Could Cause More Hunger." Environmental Health Perspectives. June 2008. (Nov. 7, 2008) http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/articlerender.fcgi?artid=2430252
  • Tucker, William. "Food Riots: Made in the USA." Weekly Standard. April 28, 2008. (Nov. 8, 2008) http://www.weeklystandard.com/Content/Public/Articles/000/000 /015/007jlljc.asp?pg=2

­

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement


Advertisement


Recommended

Advertisement

Advertisement