10 Myths About Rainbows

Lots More Information


The Amazing, and Alarming, Science Behind Red Snow

The Amazing, and Alarming, Science Behind Red Snow

Red snow totally exists. And while it looks cool, it's not what you want to see from Mother Nature. Learn more about red snow from HowStuffWorks

Author's Note: 10 Myths About Rainbows

I definitely learned a thing or two (or three or four) from researching this article. Now I'm on a mission to spot a moonbow. Guess that means I need to go to the Caribbean ...

Related Articles

More Great Links


  • Colours of the Rainbow. "Rainbow Legends." (Feb. 23, 2015) http://www.colours-of-the-rainbow.com/legends.html
  • Edens, Harald. "Frequently asked questions about the rainbow." Weatherscapes. (Feb. 27, 2015) http://www.weatherscapes.com/techniques.php?cat=optics&page=rainbowfaq
  • Howard, Jacqueline. "Two People Never See The Same Rainbow – And 6 More Amazing Facts About The Optical Phenomenon." The Huffington Post. Aug. 31, 2013. (Feb. 24, 2015) http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/08/31/facts-about-rainbows_n_3779801.html
  • Lewin, Adrienne Mand. "7 colorful facts you didn't know about rainbows." Today. June 21, 2012. (Feb. 25, 2015) http://www.today.com/id/47891913/ns/today-weather/t/colorful-facts-you-didnt-know-about-rainbows/#.VO6NeyyGNCA
  • Mahlen, Gena. "How a Rainbow is Formed." (Feb. 27, 2015) http://faculty.cord.edu/manning/physics215/studentpages/genamahlen.html
  • Merali, Aliya. "Create Your Own Rainbow." Physics Central. (March 1, 2015) http://physicscentral.com/experiment/physicsathome/rainbow.cfm
  • Mystical Myth. "Irish Pot of Gold." (Feb. 26, 2015) http://www.bellaterreno.com/art/irish/irish_potgold.aspx
  • National Geographic. "Rainbow." (Feb. 23, 2015) http://education.nationalgeographic.com/education/encyclopedia/rainbow/?ar_a=1
  • Plait, Phil. "Polarized rainbow, what does this mean???" Discover Magazine. Aug. 18, 2011. (March 1, 2015) http://blogs.discovermagazine.com/badastronomy/2011/08/18/polarized-rainbow-what-does-this-mean/#.VPMpVi6wjfY
  • Polarization. Rainbow. "A Polarized Arch? Halos? Glories?" (March 1, 2015) https://www.polarization.com/rainbow/rainbow.html
  • Rao, Joe. "Rainbows: How They Form & How to See Them. Live Science." March 15, 2011. (Feb. 27, 2015) http://www.livescience.com/30235-rainbows-formation-explainer.html
  • Science Kids. "Rainbow Facts For Kids." (Feb. 23, 2015) http://www.sciencekids.co.nz/sciencefacts/weather/rainbows.html
  • Your Irish. "The Magical Legend Of The Leprechaun." (Feb. 26, 2015) http://www.yourirish.com/folklore/the-leprechauns/

More to Explore