How Spontaneous Human Combustion Works


Lots More Information

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • BBC News. "New Light on Human Torch Mystery." August 31, 1998. http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/158853.stm
  • Behr, Edward. "Prohibition: Thirteen Years That Changed America." Arcade Press. 2011.
  • Benecke, Mark. "Spontaneous Human Combustion: Thoughts of a Forensic Biologist," Skeptical Inquirer, March-April 1998, volume 22, pages 47-51.
  • Endeavour News. "50 Years Later Bentley Death Still a Mystery." March 23, 2015. http://www.endeavornews.com/news/2015-03-28/Potter_County_News/50_years_later_Bentley_death_still_a_mystery.html
  • Fransen, Steve and Zaugg, Ned. "Spontaneous Combustion of Hay." Washington State University. https://ext.wsu.edu/hay-combustion.html
  • Kelly, Lynne. "The Skeptic's Guide to the Paranormal." Basic Books. 2005.
  • Lewis, Tanya. "Can Humans Spontaneously Combust? 'Unexplained Files' Investigates." Live Science. Oct. 1, 2013. https://www.livescience.com/40086-unexplained-files-can-humans-spontaneously-combust.html
  • McCarthy, Erin. "Fringe Takes On Spontaneous Human Combustion, Gets Burned." Popular Mechanics. Sept. 30, 2009. https://www.popularmechanics.com/culture/tv/a4317/4316466/
  • Murphy, Cullen. "A Blaze of Glory," The Atlantic, April 1987. Volume 259, pages 16-17.
  • National Park Service. "Spontaneous Combustion: Fact or Fiction?" https://www.nps.gov/articles/fire-prevention-52-spontaneous-combustion.htm
  • Nickell, Joe. "Fiery Tales That Spontaneously Destruct," Skeptical Inquirer, March-April 1998, Volume 22, pages 15-18.
  • Nickell, Joe. "Investigative Files: Not-So-Spontaneous Combustion." Skeptical Inquirer. Nov.-Dec. 1996. https://www.csicop.org/si/show/not-so-spontaneous_human_combustion
  • Nickell, Joe. "Fiery Tales That Spontaneously Combust." Skeptical Inquirer. April, 1998. https://www.csicop.org/si/show/fiery_tales_that_spontaneously_destruct
  • Nienhuys, Jan Willem. "Spontaneous Human Confabulation: Requiem for Phyllis," Skeptical Inquirer, March 2001, volume 25, page 28.
  • Radford, Benjamin. "Coroner Concludes Irishman Dead of Spontaneous Human Combustion. Live Science. Sept. 25, 2011. https://www.livescience.com/16215-spontaneous-human-combustion-real.html
  • Radford, Benjamin. "Spontaneous Human Combustion: Facts and Theories." Live Science. Dec. 18, 2013. https://www.livescience.com/42080-spontaneous-human-combustion.html
  • Reville, William. "Explanation Overdue for the Combustion of Humans." The Irish Times. Oct. 20, 2011. https://www.irishtimes.com/news/science/explanation-overdue-for-combustion-of-humans-1.628038
  • South Australian Metropolitan Fire Service. "Self Heating and Spontaneous Combustion." http://www.mfs.sa.gov.au/site/community_safety/home_fire_and_life_safety_information_sheets_domestic/self_heating_and_spontaneous_combustion.jsp
  • The Skeptic's Dictionary." Spontaneous Human Combustion." http://www.skepdic.com/shc.html
  • Skepsis. "The documents in the case of Phyllis Newcombe." https://skepsis.nl/phyllisdoc/
  • Weir, Kirsten. "Up in Smoke," Current Science, Volume 89, Number 8, Dec. 5, 2003, page 4.

More to Explore