The 10 Heaviest Buildings Ever Moved


1
Fu Gang Building (15,140 Tons)

When it comes to big moves, it's only a matter of time before a record is broken -- and this time, the honor goes to one particularly mammoth building in the Guangxi Province of China. The Fu Gang building is the current record holder in the book of Guinness World Records for the heaviest structure moved intact.

The multi-story building weighs 15,140 tons, or 33.3 million pounds, and began heading to its new location on Nov. 10, 2004. Although it was only moved a total of 118 feet (36 meters), the entire process took 11 days to complete [source: Guinness World Records].

Few of the Fu Gang relocation details have been made public, but there are still plenty of reasons for its move to make our list. For starters, there's our sheer appreciation of the coordination and planning it must have required to move a building that weighed that much. How long will it take to break the Fu Gang's record? The big moves on this list show that it's only a matter of time and determination.

To learn about more feats of structural moving, take a look at the links below.

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • Collins, Glenn. "Slow Return as Hub for Aviation; After 67 Years, Newark's First Terminal Has New Life." New York Times. April 27, 2002. (Jan. 24, 2012) http://www.nytimes.com/2002/04/27/nyregion/slow-return-hub-for-aviation-after-67-years-newark-s-first-terminal-has-new-life.html?pagewanted=all
  • Decoteau, Randall. "Agecroft Hall and Gardens: Richmond's Remarkable Tudor Estate." (Jan. 23, 2012) New England Antiques Journal. http://www.antiquesjournal.com/pages04/Monthly_pages/dec06/agecroft.html
  • Fisher, Lewis. "Saving San Antonio: The Precarious Preservation of a Heritage." Texas Tech University Press. Nov. 15, 1996. (Jan. 24, 2012)
  • Garboske, Ellen. "Montgomery Hotel Moves to New Location." Preservation Action of San Jose Newsletter. January 2000. (Jan. 24, 2012) http://www.preservation.org/newsletters/winter2000.pdf
  • Grandoni, Dino. "Western New York's heavy lifters." Buffalo News. Aug. 22, 2010. (Jan. 24, 2012) http://www.buffalonews.com/business/local-business/article169021.ece
  • Guinness Book of World Records. "Heaviest Building Moved Intact." (Jan. 24, 2012) http://www.guinnessworldrecords.com/records-1/heaviest-building-moved-intact/
  • Hospitality Net. "Joie de Vivre Hospitality Opens the Restored Montgomery Hotel." July 13, 2004. (Jan. 24, 2012) http://www.hospitalitynet.org/news/4020010.html
  • "Hotel Montgomery." Joie de Vivre Hotels. (Jan. 24, 2012) http://www.jdvhotels.com/montgomery/
  • International Chimney Corp. "GEM Theater Relocation." (Jan. 24, 2012) http://www.internationalchimney.com/casestudies/view/35/MjAsMjMsNDAsMjgsMjUsMjQsMzQsNDIsMzgsMzMsNDMsMzUsNDEsMzIsMjcsMzEsMzcsMzYsMzksMjYsMjksMzA=/GEM_Theater_Relocation_Detroit_MI.html
  • Johnson, Bruce. "House Weight." All Experts. July 20, 2007. (Jan. 24, 2012) http://en.allexperts.com/q/Building-Homes-Extensions-2333/House-weight.htm
  • Krause, Lisa. "Sun to illuminate inner sanctum of pharaoh's temple." National Geographic. Feb. 21, 2001. (Jan. 24, 2012) http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2001/02/0221_abusimbel.html
  • LeFevre, Camille. "The Shubert's Next Stage." Twin Cities Business Magazine. July 2006. (Jan. 24, 2012). http://www.tcbmag.com/industriestrends/features/77711p1.aspx
  • Marck, Paul. "Pete Friesen a mover of manmade monuments." The Edmonton Journal. March 30, 2007. (Jan. 24, 2012) http://www2.canada.com/edmontonjournal/news/story.html?id=06d16ea4-a0da-494e-841f-2b1dc18e5076&k=45035&p=2
  • National Park Service. "Moving the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse." (Jan. 23, 2012) http://www.nps.gov/caha/historyculture/movingthelighthouse.htm
  • Port Authority. "Historic, 5,000-ton Newark International Airport Terminal making a 3,700-foot trip to new site." March 28, 2001. (Jan. 23, 2012) http://www.panynj.gov/press-room/press-item.cfm?headLine_id=36
  • Texas Crane. "A Guiness Record." (Jan. 24, 2012) http://www.texascrane.com/info_faqs/guiness.shtml
  • Wright, Elizabeth. "Belle Tout: The Little Lighthouse that Moved." Time Travel Britain. (Jan. 24, 2012) http://www.timetravel-britain.com

UP NEXT

How Removing Public Monuments Works

How Removing Public Monuments Works

Controversy surrounds the removal of public monuments honoring the U.S. Confederacy. HowStuffWorks looks into the building and removing of public monuments.


More to Explore