How Crack Cocaine Works


Lots More Information

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • Australian Government Department of Health. "The Cocaine Withdrawal Syndrome." April 2004. http://www.health.gov.au/internet/publications/publishing.nsf/Content/drugtreat-pubs-modpsy-toc~drugtreat-pubs-modpsy-3~drugtreat-pubs-modpsy-3-7~drugtreat-pubs-modpsy-3-7-cws
  • Blake, Mariah. "The Damage Done: Crack Babies Talk Back," Columbia Journalism Review, Issue 5, September/October 2004. https://www.alternet.org/story/19830/%27crack_babies%27_talk_back
  • Criminal Justice Policy Foundation. "Who Uses Crack Cocaine, and Why?" https://www.cjpf.org/who-uses-crack-cocaine-and-why/
  • Drug Abuse Warning Network. "National Estimates of Drug-Related Emergency Department Visits, 2004-2011 - Illicits (excluding alcohol)." 2011. https://www.samhsa.gov/data/report/national-estimates-drug-related-emergency-department-visits-2004-2011-illicits-excluding
  • Drug Policy Alliance. "Cocaine and Crack Facts." http://www.drugpolicy.org/drug-facts/cocaine-and-crack-facts
  • Drug Policy Alliance. "Race and the Drug War." http://www.drugpolicy.org/issues/race-and-drug-war
  • Esposito, Monica. "Cocaine Reached Highest Purity in a Decade According to the Latest European Drug Report." Cocaine Route Programme. June 11, 2018. https://cocaineroute.eu/cocaine-reached-highest-purity-in-a-decade-according-to-the-latest-european-drug-report/
  • Foundation for a Drug-Free World. "Crack Cocaine: A Short History." https://www.drugfreeworld.org/drugfacts/crackcocaine/a-short-history.html
  • Gwynne, Kristen. "4 Biggest Myths About Crack." Salon. Aug. 10, 2013. https://www.salon.com/2013/08/10/busting_the_crack_propaganda_myths_partner/
  • Haasen, Christian, et al. "Cocaine Use in Europe - A Multi-Centre Study." European Addiction Research 2004; 10:139-146.
  • LaVille, Sandra. "Simple Test to Check Purity of the Powder that Gave Birth to New Killer." The Telegraph. June 25, 2002. https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1398291/Simple-test-to-check-purity-of-the-powder-that-gave-birth-to-new-killer.html
  • Mayo Clinic. "Drug Addiction." Oct. 26, 2017. https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/drug-addiction/symptoms-causes/syc-20365112
  • Meyer, Kurt D. and Zhang, Lubo. "Short- and Long-Term Adverse Effects of Cocaine Abuse During Pregnancy on the Heart Development." National Institute on Drug Abuse. Feb. 3, 2009. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2710813/
  • National Institute on Drug Abuse. "Cocaine." July 2018. https://www.drugabuse.gov/publications/drugfacts/cocaine
  • National Institute on Drug Abuse. "What is Cocaine?" May 2016. https://www.drugabuse.gov/publications/research-reports/cocaine/what-cocaine
  • National Institute on Drug Abuse. "What are the Long-Term Effects of Cocaine Use?" May 2016. https://www.drugabuse.gov/publications/research-reports/cocaine/what-are-long-term-effects-cocaine-use
  • Nestler, Eric J. "The Neurobiology of Cocaine Addiction." National Institute on Drug Abuse. Dec. 3, 2005.
  • Nixon, Ron. "By Land, Sea or Catapult: How Smugglers Get Drugs Across the Border." New York Times. July 25, 2017. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/07/25/us/drugs-border-wall.html
  • Oliva, Idaira and Wanat, Matthew J. "Ventral Tegmental Area Afferents and Drug-Dependent Behaviors." National Institutes of Health. March 7, 2016. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4780106/
  • ProjectKnow. "Mixing Alcohol and Cocaine." https://www.projectknow.com/research/mixing-alcohol-and-crack-cocaine/
  • ScienceDirect. "Randomized Clinical Trial of Disulfiram for Cocaine Dependence or Abuse During Buprenorphine Treatment." March 2014. https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0376871613005231
  • Scottish Government. "Cocaine and Crack Cocaine." April 21, 2004. https://www.gov.scot/Publications/2004/04/19271/36148
  • U.S. Customs and Border Patrol. "Enforcement Statistics FY2018." https://www.cbp.gov/newsroom/stats/cbp-enforcement-statistics
  • United States Sentencing Commission. "Quick Facts: Drug Trafficking Offenses." 2017. https://www.ussc.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/research-and-publications/quick-facts/Drug_Trafficking_2017.pdf
  • Wadman, Meredith. "Brain-altering magnetic pulses could zap cocaine addiction." Science. Aug. 29, 2017. http://www.sciencemag.org/news/2017/08/brain-altering-magnetic-pulses-could-zap-cocaine-addiction
  • Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center. "Subordinate Monkeys More Likely To Choose Cocaine Over Food." ScienceDaily. April 7, 2008.
  • White, Helene R. and Gorman, D.M. "Dynamic of the Drug-Crime Relationship." Criminal Justice. 2000. https://www.ncjrs.gov/criminal_justice2000/vol_1/02d.pdf
  • Woody, Christopher. "Colombia Produces Most of the World's Cocaine — and Output is at a Record High." Business Insider. March 8, 2017. https://www.businessinsider.com/colombia-top-cocaine-producing-countries-record-production-2017-3
  • The Vaults of Erowid. "Crack." https://erowid.org/chemicals/cocaine/crack_info1.shtml

More to Explore