|
Lots More Information
10 Green Structural Engineering Marvels
Architects design buildings. Civil engineers build bridges. Structural engineers keep it all from crumpling and shaking apart. What happens when you mix all three and throw in a green twist? Read more »
Author's Note: 10 Strange Structural Engineering Marvels

When I started researching this topic, I was astonished to find a number of articles about strange engineering, only to find out that "strange" often meant "impressive." In this top 10, I tried to focus on structures that were truly unusual or surprising.

Related ArticlesSources
  • "37th structural steel design award winners." Tata Steel. (June 3, 2013) http://www.tatasteelconstruction.com/en/news_and_events/awards/structural_steel_design_award/2005/#10699
  • "CCTV Headquarters, Beijing, China." OMA website. http://oma.eu/projects/2002/cctv-%E2%80%93-headquarters
  • "Community Bookshelf." The Kansas City Public Library. (June 3, 2013) http://www.kclibrary.org/community-bookshelf
  • Dorminey, Bruce. "Liquid Mirror Telescope Technology Finally Going Mainstream." Forbes. Dec. 30, 2012. (June 3, 2013) http://www.forbes.com/sites/brucedorminey/2012/12/30/liquid-mirror-telescope-technology-finally-going-mainstream/
  • Dowdey, Sarah. "Why is the world's largest artificial island in the shape of a palm tree?" HowStuffWorks. (June 3, 2013) http://www.howstuffworks.com/dubai-palm.htm
  • "Farthest Manmade Leaning Building. "Guinness World Records. (June 3, 2013) http://www.guinnessworldrecords.com/world-records/7000/farthest-manmade-leaning-building
  • Goodier, Rob. "The World's 18 Strangest Man-Made Islands." Popular Mechanics. (June 3, 2013) http://www.popularmechanics.com/technology/engineering/gonzo/the-worlds-18-strangest-man-made-islands#slide-1
  • Gottleib, Zach. "The World's 18 Strangest Factories." Popular Mechanics. (June 3, 2013) http://www.popularmechanics.com/technology/engineering/architecture/the-worlds-18-strangest-factories#slide-1
  • History Channel. "Seven Ancient Wonders of the World." Web site. (June 3, 2013) http://www.history.com/topics/seven-ancient-wonders-of-the-world
  • The Institution of Structural Engineers. "Melbourne Rectangular Stadium: Structural Awards 2010." (June 3, 2013) http://www.istructe.org/awards/2013/categories/sports-or-leisure-structures/2010/melbourne-rectangular-stadium
  • Jones, Jonathan. "Why we may have seen the last of dangerous art." The Guardian. Nov. 18, 2008. (June 3, 2013) http://www.guardian.co.uk/artanddesign/2008/nov/19/art-thomas-heatherwick-sculpture-councils
  • "Laerdal Tunnel." Engineering.com Library. Oct. 13, 2006. (June 3, 2013) http://www.engineering.com/Library/ArticlesPage/tabid/85/ArticleID/60/Laerdal-Tunnel.aspx
  • "The Large Zenith Telescope." University of British Columbia. Dec. 5, 2004. (June 3, 2013) http://www.astro.ubc.ca/lmt/lzt/
  • Major Projects Victoria. "Melbourne Rectangular Stadium (AAMI Park)." (June 3, 2013) http://www.majorprojects.vic.gov.au/our-projects/our-past-projects/melbourne-rectangular-stadium
  • Markus, Frank. "VW's Transparent Factory." Car and Driver. Sept. 2003. (June 3, 2013) http://www.caranddriver.com/features/vws-transparent-factory
  • Resnick, Brian. "The World's 18 Strangest Parking Garages." Popular Mechanics. (June 3, 2013) http://www.popularmechanics.com/cars/news/pictures/worlds-strangest-parking-garages#slide-1
  • Salmi, Laura. "Capital Gate to become Guinness Book of Records' most inclined tower?" World Architecture News. Oct. 28, 2008. (June 3, 2013) http://www.worldarchitecturenews.com/index.php?fuseaction=wanappln.projectview&upload_id=10567
  • Stockholm Globe Arenas. "Ericsson Globe." (June 3, 2013) http://www.globearenas.se/en/for_visitors/events_area/ericsson_globe.aspx
  • Sweeney, Chris. "The World's 18 Strangest Bridges." (June 3, 2013) http://www.popularmechanics.com/technology/engineering/architecture/4335705#slide-1
  • Sweeney, Chris. "The World's 18 Strangest Tunnels." Popular Mechanics. (June 3, 2013) http://www.popularmechanics.com/technology/engineering/architecture/4343590#slide-1
  • Tand, Didi. "China's CCTV Headquarters Completed." Huffington Post. May 16, 2012. (June 3, 2013) http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/05/16/china-cctv-headquarters-completed_n_1521377.html
  • Thornhill, Cher. "London Bridge is rolling up: The spectacular Rolling Bridge that unfolds every Friday at noon." The Daily Mail. Sept. 22, 2008. (June 3, 2013) http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-1059777/London-Bridge-rolling-The-spectacular-Rolling-Bridge-unfolds-Friday-noon.html#ixzz2WD7ajcBO
  • University of Stockholm, Department of Astronomy. "The Sweden Solar System." (June 3, 2013) http://www.astro.su.se/english/about-us/the-sweden-solar-system-1.74650
|