How Zero Works


Lots More Information

Related Articles

Sources

  • Arsham, Hossein. "Zero in four dimensions." University of Baltimore. Accessed April 18, 2011. http://home.ubalt.edu/ntsbarsh/zero/zero.htm
  • Ask Dr. Math. "Division by zero." The Math Forum at Drexel University. Accessed April 5, 2011. http://mathforum.org/dr.math/faq/faq.divideby0.html
  • Carasco, Jester. "Properties of zero." Basic-Mathematics.com. Accessed April 18, 2011. http://www.basic-mathematics.com/properties-of-zero.html
  • Forex Realm. "Fibonacci biography and facts." Accessed April 15, 2010. http://www.forexrealm.com/technical-analysis/fibonacci/fibonacci-biography-history-facts.html
  • Gray, Jeremy. "Book review: Zero: the biography of a dangerous idea." Notices of the AMS. October 200. http://www.ams.org/notices/200009/rev-gray.pdf
  • Knott, Dr. Ron. "Who was Fibonacci?" University of Surrey. March 11, 1998. http://www.maths.surrey.ac.uk/hosted-sites/R.Knott/Fibonacci/fibBio.html
  • Matson, John. "The origin of zero." Scientific American. August 21, 2009. http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=history-of-zero
  • O'Connor, J.J. and Robertson, E.F. "The history of zero." University of St. Andrews. November 2000. http://www-history.mcs.st-and.ac.uk/HistTopics/Zero.html
  • Pepperberg, Irene and Gordon, Jesse D. "Number comprehension by a grey parrot (Psittacus erithacus), including a zero-like concept." Journal of Comparative Psychology. 2005. http://www.alexfoundation.org/papers/JCPAlexComp.pdf
  • Saudi Aramco World. "Zero, key to numbers." November 1961. http://www.saudiaramcoworld.com/issue/196109/zero.key.to.numbers.htm
  • Seife, Charles. "Zero: the biography of a dangerous idea." Penguin. 2000. http://books.google.com/books?id=obJ70nxVYFUC
  • Singh, Simon. "5 numbers - zero." BBC. March 11, 2002. http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio4/science/5numbers1.shtml
  • Stapel, Elizabeth. "Negative exponents." Purplemath. Accessed April 18, 2011. http://www.purplemath.com/modules/exponent2.htm
  • Stockton, J.K. "Date miscellany I." March 10, 2010. http://www.merlyn.demon.co.uk/miscdate.htm#AstDat
  • Teresi, Dick. "Zero." The Atlantic. July 1997. http://www.theatlantic.com/past/docs/issues/97jul/zero.htm
  • The Straight Dope. "Is zero a number?" Accessed April 5, 2011.http://www.straightdope.com/columns/read/1633/is-zero-a-number
  • University of Utah Mathematics Department. "Why can't we divide by zero?" February 17, 1997. http://www.math.utah.edu/~pa/math/0by0.html
  • Wolfram Math World. "Natural number." Accessed April 5, 2011. http://mathworld.wolfram.com/NaturalNumber.html

More to Explore