Like HowStuffWorks on Facebook!

What are rare earth elements – and what do they have to do with the environment?


Author's Note: What are rare earth elements, and what do they have to do with the environment?

I'll admit it: I hate science. (Math too, if you must know.) So this topic initially didn't thrill me. Until I realized it meant I finally had something science-y to discuss with my older daughter, who just graduated with a B.S. in chemistry. My daughter was familiar with the rare earth elements, and helped me to fully understand what they're all about. That personal touch made the subject much more interesting to me, and I hope that interest is reflected in this article.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Chemical Elements. "Periodic Table: Rare Earth." (April 2, 2012) http://www.chemicalelements.com/groups/rareearth.html
  • Cohen, Dave. "The rare earth elements crisis." Energy Bulletin. Aug. 31, 2010. (April 3, 2012) http://www.energybulletin.net/stories/2010-08-31/rare-earth-elements-crisis
  • Colorado Rare Earths Inc. "What Are Rare Earth Elements?" (April 5, 2012) http://www.coloradorareearth.com/what_are_rare_earths_elements.htm
  • Folger, Tim. "Rare Earth Elements." National Geographic. June 2011. (April 2, 2012) http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/2011/06/rare-earth-elements/folger-text
  • Geology. "REE - Rare Earth Elements and their Uses." (April 2, 2012) http://geology.com/articles/rare-earth-elements/
  • Houses of Parliament. "Rare Earth Metals." (April 5, 2012) www.parliament.uk/briefing-papers/POST-PN-368.pdf
  • Koerth-Baker, Maggie. "4 Rare Earth Elements That Will Only Get More Important." Popular Mechanics. (April 2, 2012) http://www.popularmechanics.com/technology/engineering/news/important-rare-earth-elements#slide-1
  • Laskow, Sarah. "The Next Great Resource Rush: Rare Earth Metals." Good Environment. July 6, 2011. (April 3, 2012) http://www.good.is/post/the-next-great-resource-rush-rare-earth-metals/
  • Levkowitz, Lee and Nathan Beauchamp-Mustafaga. "China's Rare Earths Industry and its Role in the International Market." Nov. 3, 2010. (April 2, 2012) http://www.uscc.gov/researchpapers/2011/RareEarthsBackgrounderFINAL.pdf
  • Los Alamos National Laboratory. "Periodic Table of Elements: LANL." (April 3, 2012) http://periodic.lanl.gov/index.shtml
  • Lynas Corp. "iPods and MP3 Players." (April 5, 2012) http://www.lynascorp.com/application.asp?category_id=1&page_id=7&app_id=7
  • Smith, S.C. "Dirty, dangerous and destructive – the elements of a technology boom." The Guardian. Sept. 26, 2011. (April 3, 2012) http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2011/sep/26/rare-earth-metals-technology-boom
  • Tasman Metals. "What Are Rare Earth Elements?" (April 2, 2012) http://www.tasmanmetals.com/s/RareEarth.asp
  • Think Global Green. "Rare-earth metals." (April 3, 2012) http://www.thinkglobalgreen.org/rare-earthmetals.html
  • ThinkQuest. "Media Players." (April 12, 2012) http://library.thinkquest.org/08aug/01589/mediaplayers_history.html
  • Vanderkrogt. "Yttrium." (April 12, 2012) http://www.vanderkrogt.net/elements/element.php?sym=Y