How Urban Sprawl Works


Lots More Information

Related HowStuffWorks Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • American Forests. "Urban Sprawl Information."http://www.americanforests.org/resources/sprawl/
  • Barry, Patrick L. "Urban Sprawl: The Big Picture." NASA. 11 Oct 2002. http://science.nasa.gov/headlines/y2002/11oct_sprawl.htm
  • David Suzuki Foundation. 2003.http://www.davidsuzuki.org/Publications/Driven_to_Action.asp
  • Dries, Mike. "Undoing Urban Sprawl." Milwaukee Business Journal. 14 Feb 1997. http://milwaukee.bizjournals.com/milwaukee/stories/1997/02/17/story3.html
  • El Nasser, Haya and Paul Overberg. "A Comprehensive Look at Sprawl in America." USA Today. 22 Feb 2001. http://www.usatoday.com/news/sprawl/main.htm
  • Environmental Literacy Council. "Urban Sprawl." April 2, 2008.http://www.enviroliteracy.org/article.php/409.html
  • European Environment Agency. "Urban Sprawl in Europe: The Ignored Challenge." EEA Report. 2006. http://reports.eea.europa.eu/eea_report_2006_10/en/eea_report_10_2006.pdf
  • Frumkin, Howard M.D., DRPH. "Urban Sprawl and Public Health." Public Health Reports. May-June 2002. http://www.cdc.gov/healthyplaces/articles/Urban%20Sprawl%20and%20Public%20Health%20-%20PHR.pdf
  • Glaeser, Edward and Matthew Kahn. "Sprawl and Urban Growth." National Bureau of Economic Research. May 2003. http://papers.nber.org/papers/w9733.pdf
  • James, Barry. "The Future of Cities: Learning to Manage Urban Sprawl." International Herald Tribune. 12 August 2002. http://www.iht.com/articles/2002/08/12/cities_ed3_.php
  • Kammer, Jerry. "Immigration Fueling Huge Population Jump, Study Warns." SignOnSandiego.com. 30 Aug 2007. http://signonsandiego.printthis.clickability.com/pt/cpt?action=cpt&title=SignOnSanDiego.com+%3E+News+%3E+Nation+--+Immigration+fueling+huge+population+jump%2C+study+warns&expire=&urlID=23709133&fb=Y&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.signonsandiego.com%2Fnews%2Fnation%2F20070830-1525-cnsimmig.html&partnerID=621
  • "Lighting Up the Ecosphere." NASA Science News. 15 Nov 2000. http://science.nasa.gov/headlines/y2000/ast15nov_1.htm
  • Meadows, Donella H. "Stop Sprawl: Better Not Bigger." The Global Citizen. 4 March 1999. http://www.sierraclub.org/sprawl/articles/meadows2.asp
  • Mitchell, John G. "The American Dream: Urban Sprawl." National Geographic Magazine Online. August 2008. http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/ngm/data/2001/07/01/html/ft_20010701.3.html
  • National Center for Policy Analysis. "The Truth about Urban Sprawl." March 24, 1999.http://www.ncpa.org/ba/ba287.html
  • Numbers USA. "Urban Sprawl."http://www.numbersusa.com/interests/urbansprawl.html
  • Orsman, Bernard. "Call to Put Council Shares Into Trust." The New Zealand Herald. June 23, 2008. http://www.nzherald.co.nz/section/1/story.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10517744
  • Roberts, Sam. "In Shift, 40% of Immigrants Move Directly to Suburbs." The New York Times. Oct. 17, 2007. http://www.nytimes.com/2007/10/17/us/17census.html?_r=1&_r&oref=slogin
  • Sierra Club. "Stopping Sprawl."http://www.sierraclub.org/sprawl/
  • Sprawl City. 2007.http://www.sprawlcity.org/
  • "Sprawl puts Florida's future at risk." Tampa Bay Times. Dec. 27, 2006. http://www.sptimes.com/2006/12/27/news_pf/Opinion/Sprawl_puts_Florida_s.shtml
  • "Sydney Struggles with Growing Pains." China Daily. Dec. 12, 2006. http://english.peopledaily.com.cn/200612/12/eng20061212_331400.html
  • U.S. Department of Justice. "Urban, Suburban, and Rural Victimization, 1993-98." Oct. 18, 2000.http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/abstract/usrv98.htm

­